Diddy Kong Racing

Page of 4 > 

Developer

Joined Feb 13, 2016

OP

May 17 2017, 7:45pm, edited December 22 2021, 6:19am

Official Topic Post for discussion about Diddy Kong Racing (Nintendo 64) Diddy Kong Racing (Nintendo 64)
Created 17 May, 2017 20:45 by Delmaru


1. Diddy Kong Racing (USA) (En,Fr).z64  
Diddy Kong Racing Rev 0 (1997)(Rare)(US)(en-fr).bin  
RA Checksum: 4f0e07f0eeac7e5d7ce3a75461888d03
CRC32 Checksum: EB759206

2. Diddy Kong Racing (USA) (En,Fr).v64  
nus-ndye-0.u1  
RA Checksum: e00c0e6bfb0ce740e3e1c50ba82bc01a
CRC32 Checksum: 9D2935A1

3. Diddy Kong Racing Rev 0 (1997)(Rare)(US)(en-fr)[tr pt].bin  
RA Checksum: 94d81d14a2d768dd0eda3a845afb25cd
CRC32 Checksum: 7DAB6850


----European Versions Currently Incompatible, Unlinked----

Resources:
GameFAQs
Longplay
Wikipedia

Set coded by Delmaru
Achievement badges by Raykusen
Game Badge by ???

Developer

Joined Feb 13, 2016

OP

May 23 2017, 9:57pm

Alright, set is done. As always, please let me know if something doesn't work.

For all of the time Trials, you MUST use the default vehicle for that track. Otherwise, they will not work.

Developer

Joined Apr 25, 2016

May 23 2017, 10:52pm

I'll try to get to testing it soon, I think a large part of this game is really difficult for me tho.. XD

Developer

Joined Apr 25, 2016

May 24 2017, 12:08am, edited May 24 2017, 2:53pm

Wellp... every single Time-Trial achievement popped on-load...I'll remove them from my profile when they're fixed, otherwise if I remove them now, they'll just pop again.


Also, might want to let them know that you need to get 5 balloons in a single-playing-session. They might not understand that if they turn the game off or change to a different character, they might lose their progress.

Otherwise it looks pretty good and the rest are going alright.


EDIT: I think the main reason it pops early is because you only have ONE Requirement on each Time Trial achievement. Even if the game didn't pop them on-load, a downloaded-save-file would easily do it as well.

Developer

Joined Jan 4, 2017

May 24 2017, 2:19am, edited May 24 2017, 2:22am

I love this game. I was the shit at this back in the day. It's almost torture that I have to wait until the n64 emulator becomes available for everyone. I looked through the achievements, and I was wondering if you can add anything for beating the adventure 2 (tracks in reverse) mode (which is unlocked after beating wiz pig the second time if memory serves me correctly). Also, achievements for beating T.T.s ghost in each level would be nice, but not as necessary since I think beating him in all levels is the only way to unlock him and get the five balloons with TT achievement.

Developer

Joined Feb 13, 2016

OP

May 24 2017, 8:40pm

Yeah, I already have one for beating all of TTs ghosts in getting 5 balloons with him. I didn't do Adventure 2 because I have no idea how it works in memory, and starting in world 2 the coin challenges are nearly impossible. We might have adventure 2 achievements in the future, but for now, I think its fine. Especially since to even do everything, you have to beat EVERY track at least 5 times.

Anyway, Time Trial achievements seem to be fixed, let me know if any more problems arise.



And yes, for each character, you must get 5 balloons in one session with that character to unlock the achievement.

Developer

Joined Apr 25, 2016

May 24 2017, 9:24pm

Well I haven't tried to GET those time-trial achievements yet, but they definitely don't pop early now, very nice.

Developer

Joined Jan 4, 2017

May 25 2017, 2:13am

I actually completed adventure two back in the late 90s. I particularly remember having a difficult time with the Frosty Village coin challenge.

I would still love to see at least one adventure two achievement for collecting all of the balloons and beating Wizpig the second time, but there are still lots of great challenges in this set to revisit.

Can anyone shed some light on where the n64 emulator beta is at? Will it be available soon? Should I throw money on a n64 usb controller now?

Joined May 18, 2016

May 25 2017, 5:17pm, edited May 25 2017, 9:17pm

Hello everyone o/

Only one time trial doesn't work for me, it's Haunted Wood.
Otherwise, realy good job for this game <3

Developer

Joined Feb 13, 2016

OP

May 31 2017, 7:56pm

If you've had trouble unlocking achievements, you were probably using the wrong Rom/version. Please use US Version 1.0. All other roms have been unlinked and linked to a different entry.

Developer

Joined Feb 13, 2016

OP

June 23 2017, 11:49pm

Alright, Wizpig achievements should be working as intended, as well as added a new achievement. Have fun!

Let me know if they're still broken.

Developer

Joined Jan 4, 2017

June 24 2017, 2:27am

Thanks a lot for the Adventure 2 achievement! Hopefully I can still do it!

Joined Jul 8, 2015

June 27 2017, 12:29am

Just got to Wizpig 2 and the emulator crashed... fortunately it didn't lose my progress, but when I tried it again it crashed again... the error message said something about graphics, so my guess is that the default plugin can't handle either the cutscene prior or the actual course... any advice?

Developer

Joined Apr 25, 2016

June 27 2017, 12:35am

If your default plugin was Jabo, trying using either Glide64, GlideN64, or "Project 64 Video Plugin". They all run on OpenGL, whereas Jabo and I believe Rice Video use D3D6 and D3D8.

I usually have to use Jabo because of the Overlay and the Emulator causing a lot of slowdown for me because the Overlay uses DirectX, and OpenGL ... somehow... causes slowdown between the two, I guess. I don't know how it works. But I will say that DKR is one of the few games I can run in an OpenGL plugin without having to lower the resolution of the Window-size just so it won't be a slideshow. So if you have to switch plugins, and your computer was anywhere near as bad as mine(which I'm pretty sure it isn't) then you won't have as bad of a time with it as I normally do, but DKR somehow doesn't use much resources anyway.

Joined Jul 8, 2015

June 27 2017, 2:41am

Thanks, I'll just try that and... OH COME ON! Okay, so you know how you're supposed to click "Apply" to save changes like this? For SOME reason, it just resets everything to default instead!
Page of 4 > 

You must log in before you can join this conversation.