User: 
Pass: 

Unofficial Achievements are NOT awarded anymore

Page: < 1 2
AuthorMessage

Adultery
Posted: 05 Jun, 2018 00:27
Last Edit: 05 Jun, 2018 00:29
I dig that you're not a programmer, but it's not hard to patch a rom and change the checksum. Nowadays it's mostly automated. I can help you with that, and as the poster before me mentioned, Salsa (bless her heart) loves to help others here.

I also appreciate that you're passionate about this topic, and you make a well rounded argument. But I'm not new to the emulation community in general, and there are always lots of people willing to help you test things. I've never had a shortage of beta testers for anything I've developed. Most of these people do it for the love of the hobby, expecting nothing in return.

I'm also a QA professional (I actually run the QA department at a SaaS company), so I thoroughly test my own work before I put it out there. Sure, not everyone has that luxury, but a shout in the chat/forum looking for volunteers is most likely enough. If you think there needs to be incentive, a simple thanks in the game thread or the option to come up with a cheevos idea is probably enough for most. Maybe even get the site admin to throw down a karma/spirit meter.

I still think it's a good idea to stop awarding points for unofficial achievements. And I also agree that developers shouldn't continue to utilize that space for achievements that would not normally be promoted to core. But I mostly agree that if it wasn't for developers like yourself, I wouldn't be here playing the games I grew up on.

What's done is done, I hope you don't stop developing. I was hoping your Parallel Worlds set would get an update to 1.23. :)

Sixerito
Posted: 09 Feb, 2019 14:22
On my Retroarch, I only can see the official achievements.

How can I see all (official and unofficial) achievements list?

Thank you in advance

kdecks
Posted: 09 Feb, 2019 14:33
Last Edit: 09 Feb, 2019 14:39